Skip to content
Home » Maps Teacher Grant Program Awards $25,000 to Local Teachers

Maps Teacher Grant Program Awards $25,000 to Local Teachers

  • Published
  • 3 min read
Maps Teacher Grant Program Awards $25,000 to Local Teachers

The Maps Community Foundation awarded 25 grants to K-12 teachers from around the Mid-Willamette Valley, totaling nearly $25,000 to be used for classroom and schoolwide projects benefiting local students. 

The funds for these grants are part of the Foundation’s Education impact area, and this program is closely tied to the credit union’s roots as a teacher’s credit union

We look forward to our teacher grants every year because we get to recognize teachers — people who are doing meaningful work and making an incredible difference in our children’s lives every day. We are constantly inspired by the dedication of our local teachers.

Englewood Elementary School, 2022

Education is one of the three impact areas of our Foundation’s community investments, along with Economic Empowerment and Vibrant Communities. As such, we invest time and resources into projects and programs that support education and promote life-long learning to shape a healthy, thriving future for our Mid-Willamette Valley region.

Grants like these are funded through our penny-per-swipe program and additional Maps contributions.
This year’s awardees are as follows: 

  • Zoriana Camp of Roberts Middle School.
  • Teri Birkel of Englewood Elementary.
  • Carter Alt of Houck Middle School.
  • Tara Heikila of Leslie Middle School.
  • Renee Lupien of South Salem High School.
  • Maureen Foelkl of Queen of Peace School.
  • Stacy Ryan of Liberty Elementary.
  • Kelly Ridgeway of Kalapuya Elementary.
  • Chris Weaver and Carli O’Brien of Straub Middle School.
  • Brad Kilgroe of Whiteaker Middle School.
  • Celine Carlton of Hallman Elementary School.
  • Leah Laughton of Scotts Mills Elementary.
  • Teresa Murphy of John F Kennedy High School.
  • Penelope Freeburg of Falls City Elementary School.
  • Lynn Bailey of Falls City High School.
  • Clair Dietz of Lyle Elementary School.
  • Lisa Iverson of Turner Elementary School.
  • Hollie Carlile of Mari-Linn School.
  • David Whetzel of Scott Elementary (see below).
  • Anna Smoll of Waldo Middle School.
  • Susan Ellertson of Stephens Middle School.
  • Hannah Austin of Swegle Elementary.
  • Scott McGuyer of North Marion Middle School. 
  • Maribel Ortiz of Lincoln Elementary.
  • Erich VanBergen of Woodburn Success High School. 

The teacher grant program is open to all K-12 public and private school teachers in Marion and Polk Counties. Our Maps branches supported the Maps Community Foundation in selecting and distributing this year’s teacher grants. For more information or a description of what each teacher will do with the award, see winner details on our website.


You are now leaving Maps Credit Union

Modal called incorrectly.